Monday, November 12, 2012

Fantastic Ebook Deal: Spooky Reads at Unbeatable Prices

Posted by Simcha 8:03 PM, under | 1 comment

In my last post I mentioned that I haven't had much success at finding indie books that I enjoy, even though I do want to give indie authors a chance. So I really appreciate what StoryBundle is doing by offering readers a chance to sample books by indie authors- books that they themselves have enjoyed- at unbeatable prices. Seriously, you can't find a better deal than getting to set your own price for a bunch of books.

So thanks to StoryBundle I can buy ebooks that I might not be sure of, at a low price, and if I don't enjoy them I don't feel any pressure to read them, as I do when I accept books for review. It's a win-win. And if you pay a certain amount for a bundle, a couple of bonus books are thrown in.

This month, StoryBundle is offering a special spooky mix, in honor of Halloween:






Riverwatch by Joseph Nassise

Nominated for both the International Horror Guild Award and the Bram Stoker Award for Best First Novel

A forgotten chamber secreted beneath a river. An ancient evil that lies slumbering in the dark. A guardian determined to fulfill his duty to his last, dying breath.

As something dark and deadly takes to the skies over Harrington Falls, Jake Caruso and his friends, Sam Travers and Katelynn Riley, find themselves drawn into a primeval conflict set in motion centuries before.

When fresh blood is spilled and the death toll mounts, these three friends will find themselves faced with a terror beyond imagination, one that will require every vestige of their strength, faith, and determination to confront.





Taking on the Dead by Annie Walls

Life for Kansas was perfect until the day the world changed.

She has been hiding out for four years in solitude. It's the only way to survive. The only way not to draw the living dead. Helping a small group of people, she learns the new world might not be what she assumes. Venturing out of her refuge and comfort zone, she meets Rudy, who helps her find a greater purpose. She realizes that the world has moved on without her. Only it's not what she expects. Her knowledge of the living dead grows and only makes her more curious as humanity continues to hang on by a thread. While on her search for answers she finds comfort in new friendships and love, but her past seems as if it will haunt her forever.

Kansas takes it upon herself to help other survivors, which would be easy if the famished were the only obstacles.
In a trilogy plot thick with twists and turns, this adult dark fantasy is emotional as much as it is horrifyingly gripping.




A Latent Dark by Martin Kee

Skyla has lived secretly within the city walls of Bollingbrook for eleven years, playing among the airship factories and trainyards. As one of the Gutter District’s nameless destitute, it has gone undiscovered that she has a unique talent: when Skyla looks at a person’s shadow she sees through it and into another world. She can see people’s fears, desires, their past sins--all as swimming, living creatures.

Her mother has never told her the real reasons why they must remain hidden, never explained the true dangers that exist outside the city walls. But when her mother’s past catches up with them both, Skyla finds she must flee out of the city and into a world still recovering from a second Dark Age, a world of adults with secrets only she can see.

For a stranger has recently moved into Bollingbrook, a man some call the Pope of the South, a witch hunter to some and a hero to others. When more children begin to disappear, suspicions are raised and an unlikely search party is formed to find Skyla in the hopes that they aren’t already too late. 




The Drought by Patricia Fulton

Welcome to Junction, Texas

Population: 626 and steadily declining

Odd things have been happening around town. Hugh McManus went out to one of his grazing pastures and shot the better part of a fine herd before shooting himself. Luke Casteel crawled into a drainage pipe and never came back. A herd of wild javelina attacked and killed Rod Sawyer. And the thing is, the dying isn't nearly done.

Jared Riley knows there's something sinister about the heat. It's got people acting crazy and it's got him hearing things. A voice keeps whispering, "It's gonna get mighty hot. Yes sir we like our meatloaf and taters well done, served up pipin' hot." Convinced the heat is tracking them, picking them off one by one, he sets off to find help. Trouble is, the people who have the answers are more dangerous than the heat.

Driven by strong characters and a twisting plot, The DROUGHT delves into the supernatural world where ghosts roam the landscape and a voodoo curse floats on the wind.




Blaze of Glory
  by Weston Ochse For fans of Stephen King, David Gerrold, and Richard Matheson, picture this: the world is being eaten by monsters and there’s nothing you can do about it.

This novel also contains an essay called and The True Adventures of a Monster Screenplay in B-Movie Wonderland, which tells the tale of how the screenplay based on this novel was almost sold to Wesley Snipes, with many of the industry’s top horror movie stars attached to the film. 




Vicarious by Jon F. Merz 

When disgraced ex-FBI agent-turned-Boston-cop Steve Curran finds a corpse with no practical explanation for its death, the nightmares start again. Convinced the serial killer that caused his expulsion from the Bureau is once again haunting him, Curran soon learns his theories are all wrong. When the sister of the latest victim, Lauren Fields, uncovers an old journal detailing the hunt for a creature known only as the Soul Eater, she and Curran must confront the very real prospect that the killer is not of this world at all – and that his motives have little to do with killing, but all to do with something far, far worse.
 
And if you pay $9 you get the following two books thrown in:

Coming of Age: 3 Novellas by Douglas Clegg
Resurrection, Inc. by Kevin J. Anderson

Each book bundle is only available for a limited amount of time so if these sound like books you would enjoy head over to StoryBundle to buy them before the offer expires. Unfortunately I'm not sure when that is. 

1 comments:

They all look very creepy ;)

Post a Comment

Thanks for leaving a comment!
I love hearing from you and I'll do my best to respond as soon as I can.

Tags

Book Reviews

Blog Archive

Blog Archive